Home / Sports / 13th edition of Asia Cup 2016 begins from Feb 24

13th edition of Asia Cup 2016 begins from Feb 24

Dubai, Jan 29: The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) is holding the Asia Cup 2016 Twenty20 International (T20I) in Dhaka, Bangladesh from Feb 24 to Mar 6.

It will be the 13th edition of the Asia Cup, the fifth to be held in Bangladesh, and the first to be played using the Twenty20 format.

Along with hosts Bangladesh and defending champions Sri Lanka (winners in 2014), the tournament will include Pakistan, India and a qualifier. All matches will be held at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

The qualifier will be determined through a qualifying round (Twenty20 internationals) scheduled to be played from February 19 – 22 at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium (KSOAS) in Narayanganj. Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and UAE will compete for the lone spot in the main round featuring the four Asian Test nations.

The Asia Cup in the new format is also expected to serve as a preparatory platform for the teams participating in the ICC World Twenty20 in March 2016 in India.

Asia Cup Schedule

Qualifying Leg

Feb 19: Afghanistan v UAE, Fatullah

Hong Kong v Oman, Fatullah

Feb 21: Afghanistan v Oman, Fatullah

Feb 20: Hong Kong v UAE, Fatullah

Afghanistan v Hong Kong, Fatullah

Feb 22: UAE v Oman, Fatullah

Main Draw

Feb 24: India v Bangladesh, Mirpur

Feb 25: Sri Lanka v Qualifier, Mirpur

Feb 26: Bangladesh v Qualifier, Mirpur

Feb 27: India v Pakistan, Mirpur

Feb 28: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Mirpur

Feb 29: Pakistan v Qualifier, Mirpur

Mar 1: India v Sri Lanka, Mirpur

Mar 2: Bangladesh v Pakistan, Mirpur

Mar 3: India v Qualifier, Mirpur

Mar 4: Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Mirpur

Mar 6: Final, Mirpur

About thecitynews

Check Also

Ind vs Eng, 2nd Test: India won the match by 246 runs

Visakhapatnam, Nov 21: India won the match by 246 runs, handing England a massive loss ...